BBW – Big Beautiful Wellness

6 Jan

The internet can be such a great thing!  Let me introduce to you a plus size resource website and the amazing Liz Callum, the founder.  Liz is down to earth, she’s funny and she’s come up with a website to bring plus sized women together.  Not only does she have plus size resources such as fashion, health and fitness, she organizes retreats to fabulous places, has events and a yearly gala that you should not miss!

What I love the most about Liz and her team is their mission and I quote:

“We believe that:

  • Good Health is the ULTIMATE GOAL
  • Participating in all aspects of a normal life is fundamental
  • Body size is not a true indication of Health
  • Society / Diet Industry focus is skewering women’s perceptions of their own attractiveness 
  • Fat Acceptance is not the goal – Wellness is the target”

Isn’t this a great mission?  I really like this.  It touches on everything that has crossed my mind as a plus sized gal myself.  A lot of times we focus on losing weight or getting slim.  Madness!  What we should be focusing on is the above.  Good Health!!  If we focus on that, I think some of the things we concern ourselves about will fall off and if you’re trying to lose weight for example but focus on good health, the weight will fall off too because good health will include good eating, some exercise etc. etc.

Body size is not a true indication of Health.  I have skinny friends that cannot outrun me or outlast me in the gym, they eat all the wrong things and still remain skinny but underneath unhealthy…. being skinny is not my goal, being fit and healthy is!

I am inspired and hope you are too.  Please visit the Big Beautiful Wellness (BBW) website and facebook when you get a chance, sign up for their events and enjoy being ‘the beautiful you’!

BBW website

Leave a Reply

