‘Mama Size’, are you KIDDING me??

16 Sep

My girlfriend just shared an article with me and OK, I literally had to burst out laughing when I read the article on MSN. I suppose it really is no laughing matter but the argument continues. People that wear clothes that are size 12 and up used to be referred to as ‘MAMA SIZE’… oh my, what does THAT mean? I do not even want to imagine.

The article went on to say that some Chinese manufacturer’s still call sizes above size 12 ‘MAMA SIZE’ and it’s only recently that ‘full figured’, ‘curvy’, and ‘plus size’ have come into play. In fact, they mention that even ‘fat’ is becoming popular. If anyone calls me ‘fat’ to my face, well I can’t be held accountable for what happens next.. lol. I mean seriously name calling is just bad business.

To be frank, I’m a little tired of this argument. All I really care about is that when I go into a store, even if I have to go all the way to the back to find my size, I want to EASILY find my size. I actually don’t want to go to the back, I’m spending my hard earned money like everyone else, put my size up front with everyone else’s – after all, size 12 and above is still the majority, not sure what the hold up is in the stores but I can see change ahead.

Anyway, back to ‘mama size’. So I wasn’t sure if I believed this so thought I’d google it and low and behold, it does exist… here are a few items that I saw advertised:

“mama size good material factory supply fat woman underwear”

‘mama size hot sale stylish lace ladies panty’

‘LADIES MAMA SIZE TOPS & TUNICS’

angry-girlSo, we’ve always said to anyone who will listen, Curvy Girl, Plus Sized, Full Figured, BBW, Large Size, Curvaceous Beauty, Fat? We are called by many names but have to embrace our curves or our shape and love ourselves.

  • Are you angry like this cute little girl?
  • Do you care about these names?
  • Do you have any suggestions on how we can resolve this.
  • Does it need resolving?

Please click below and leave a comment so we can hear your thoughts.

Photo Credit:  adoreabletab.com
MSN Article:  Intelligence:  Plus-Size Clothes Were Once Called ‘Mama Size’ msn.com

2 Responses to “‘Mama Size’, are you KIDDING me??”

  1. Fay September 16, 2014 at 11:32 am #

    “Mama size”!!! That’s very insulting. There are a lot of young women even teenagers that are wearing size 12 and over. How would they feel to hear that they are wearing “mama size”. What would this do for their self esteem?

    I am a mother and I wear size 14. I certainly do not want to hear that I am wearing “mama size”. I do believe that this should be resolved. As to how I am not sure.

  2. Carrol November 8, 2014 at 10:54 am #

    I prefer to demonstrate what’s an appropriate way to refer to me by the way I live and carry myself. I refuse to feel or act ashamed of my curves. My outside is as cherished as my good heart and my smart brain. I can’t control what someone else thinks, but I can make sure I treat myself well. And if someone has the bad manners to call me ‘mama size’, well, I also can’t be held responsible for what happens next!

Leave a Reply

